Some school board and school committee competitions are scheduled for the Hadley Town election

HADLEY — Disputed elections for two seats on the select council and a position on the school board are expected in the May 17 municipal elections after nomination forms were dropped off at the city clerk’s office ahead of the Tuesday deadline at 5 p.m. hours.

Some board incumbents John C. Waskiewicz II and Chairman David J. Fill are both vying to retain the seats they have held for nine and four years, respectively, while three other residents are also running, including former members Richard V. Wilga, who served from 1996 to 2002, and Molly Keegan, who served on the panel from 2014 to 2020; and current City Moderator Randall E. Izer.

For the school committee, newcomers Christine Pipczynski and Toni Lyn Morelli are running for the three-year term vacated by Heather Klesch, who opted out of running after serving since 2013.

The election, which will be held from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. at Hadley Senior Center, comes after the annual town hall meeting, which will be held at Hopkins Academy on May 5 at 7 p.m. Voters last year approved the permanent change to hold the election on the third Tuesday in May each year.

The remaining positions will all be sought by candidates who present themselves unopposed.

The incumbents are running for several positions, including William E. Dwyer Jr. for a seat on the five-year Planning Board, Richard Grader for a three-year term on the Board of Reviewers, Gregory M. Mish for a three-year term on the Board of Health, Jessica Spanknebel for a three-year position as City Clerk, William Banack for a year as Constable, and Diane Kieras-Ciolkos for the Parks Commission.

Newcomers are running for the remaining seats, including Dennis Pipczynski for a three-year term as Constable, Maureen K. Devine for a year as Elector under the Oliver Smith Will, Lynne M. Latham and Susan E Mooring for three-year terms as library trustees, former Select Board member John H. Allen for a one-year post with the Housing Authority and Harry Chadwick for a three-year post with the Housing Authority .