Chelmsford voters can view the select council and school committee races

CHELMSFORD – A three-way race has taken shape for two open seats on the Select Board, as the city prepares for municipal elections, scheduled for April 5.

The Office of City Clerk Tricia Dzuris publishes regular updates, noting which candidates have taken out and returned declarations of candidacy and which documents have been certified.

Updates reflect candidates who returned their nomination papers by the February 15, 5 p.m. deadline.

In addition to the city-wide open seats, there are several open seats in the municipal assembly.

Select advice

Erin Drew, who served on the Zoning Board of Appeals, is seeking one of two vacant seats on the Select Board, each for a three-year term.

Drew challenges incumbents Pat Wojtas and Virginia Crocker Timmins. Timmins won a board seat for the first time in 2019 and is seeking a second term.

Wojtas was first elected in 2007 and lost a re-election bid, but later won in a special election.

The declarations of candidacy of the three candidates have been certified.

school committee

Voters may also see a three-way race for two open school committee seats, each for a three-year term.

Incumbents John Moses and Maria Santos could see a challenge from Rodney Cleaves for two open seats, each for three years. Moses, who was first elected in 2016, is seeking a third term and has had his papers certified.

More coverage

Chelmsford TM representatives will vote on housing zoning on the West Campus site

In Chelmsford, Black History Month events focus on the past and the future

Chelmsford, Littleton, Westford, the world: small free libraries are growing around the world

Santos, first elected in 2019, is seeking a second term.

Newcomer Cleaves released papers Jan. 27, according to city clerk records.

The papers of Santos and Moses have been certified; as of the last update on February 16, Cleaves’ papers had not yet been certified.

Library Board

Two seats are open, each for a three-year term. So far, three candidates – all newcomers – have produced papers. They are Kathleen Fox, Cynthia Goodland and Deborah Robson. The papers of the three candidates have been certified.

There are three incumbents whose terms expire this year: Kevin Hamilton, Jillian Kenny and Katy Wood Van Dyne. So far, Kenny and Van Dyne haven’t released any papers.

Hamilton took out papers for an open one-year term seat, which was also certified.

planning board

The Planning Board has two open seats, each for three years. Newcomer Scott Rummel pulled out papers, as did incumbent Michael Walsh. Walsh’s papers have been certified.

Incumbent Henry Parlee, whose term expires this year, is not seeking re-election this year.

Uncontested seats

Outgoing Board of Health member Dr. Eric Meikle contributed articles for an additional three-year term.

Jeffrey Hardy is running for the three-year open seat on the Cemetery Commission.

Incumbent Fredrick Ramseyer took out papers for the five-year open seat at the Housing Authority but did not return them on time.

Important dates, info

Candidates running for citywide seats must obtain 50 valid signatures from registered voters.

Candidates for the municipal assembly who are not incumbents need 25 valid signatures of registered voters in the constituency in which they are running.

In either case, the clerk recommends obtaining additional signatures.

Here are the important dates of the election season:

  • March 16, last day to register to vote. The Town Hall office will be open from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. that day.
  • April 5, municipal elections.

For more information, call the city clerk’s office at 978-250-5205 or visit the city’s website.

Receive updates and more – sign up for our newsletter here.