School board, school committee and more

NATICK — The results are in: Bruce Evans and Catherine Coughlin will join the Select Board as its two newest members, replacing incumbents Sue Salamoff and Richard Jennett, who declined to seek re-election.

Evans was the top voter in the race, receiving 2,064 votes, or 38.1%. Coughlin garnered 34.9% with 1,889 votes and challenger Cody Jacobs missed a seat with 1,446 votes, or 26.7%.

Evans, a retired computer software executive, and Coughlin, an academic and former owner of Sherborn Wine & Spirits, pointed to the need to address the inefficiencies of Natick’s Town Meeting form of government. The couple will soon begin a three-year term on the city executive.

This year’s election saw 13.6% of the city’s 24,039 registered voters turn out at the polls. This participation rate was slightly higher than that of Natick 2021 Annual Electionwhen 13.4% of registered voters turned out to vote.

After:Natick Select Board candidates discuss charter, affordable housing and budget gaps

school committee

In the race for the school committee, committee chair Julie McDonough and vice-chair Cathi Collins retained their seats for three years. They will be joined by newcomer Elise Gorseth.

McDonough was the top vote-getter in this race, winning 1,921 votes (23.9%). Gorseth came second with 1,704 votes (21.2%) and Collins finished third with 1,650 votes (20.5%).

Elise Gorseth, the newest member of the school committee, at the Natick Community Center polling place on election day, March 29, 2022.

Challenger Kathleen Flathers missed a seat with 1,482 votes (18.4%), followed by incumbent Henry Haugland, who garnered 1,265 votes (15.7%).

After:Meet the candidates running for the Natick School Committee in 2022

Undisputed races

Douglas Landry won a five-year seat on the planning board, while Christine Therrien won a two-year seat as an associate council member. David Ordway and Jessica Ordway were both re-elected to the Recreation and Parks Commission.

City Clerk Diane Packer and Moderator Frank Foss also retained their seats.

Natick resident John Wetherell receives his ballot at Kennedy Middle School's municipal election polling station, March 29, 2022.

Board of Reviewer nominee Paul Griesmer was unchallenged in his run for a three-year term, as was Health Board Chairman Donald Breda, who will serve another three years. Constables Kevin Flynn, Todd Gillenwater and Joseph Spurling will also serve three more years, while Kimberly Condon will join the Natick Housing Authority for a four-year term.

After:Races contested in the Natick Town election on Tuesday

Voters say yes to the first question

Voters also weighed in on a ballot question this election, with 94.5% of voters choosing to change how the city elects members of the Housing Authority to follow requirements set forth in Massachusetts law.

Here’s how it all went, according to the city’s unofficial results: